I ask… What is the Perfect Pumpkin Pie?

Happy Turkey Day (almost)! This year, I think will be the first year my family considers us “23 year olds” adults finally. As in, we have to bring something. I offered to bring Pumpkin beer, and that somehow turned into pumpkin pie. I have never made a pie, nor do I like pumpkin pie.. so this was a great challenge. I found a few recipes online, and started baking. All in All, I made 3 practice pies, and 3 real pies. My dad was so excited, he’s had a pie everyday this past week. How spoiled! I am so happy with how this recipe turned out that I found from A Cozy Kitchen .

This is the Recipe… I modified things a little (as seen in Bold)…

Filling:

2 large eggs, plus 1 egg yolk
1/2 cup white granulated sugar, plus more for topping
2 tablespoons light brown sugar
1 (15-ounce) can pumpkin puree
1 1/3 cup heavy cream (For some, I substituted with evaporated milk… see below for difference)
3 tablespoons dark rum
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice (I substituted with cloves)
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1. Preheat your oven to  410 degrees F.

2.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, egg yolk, 1/2 cup white granulated sugar, light brown sugar, pumpkin, heavy cream, rum, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice and salt. Mix until very smooth; if there are lumps due to the pumpkin puree, run the mixture through sieve.

3. Place your prepared 9-inch pie pan onto a baking sheet (this will help with transferring it in and out of the oven). Pour the pumpkin mixture into your pie crust and brush the edges of the crust with egg wash.

4. Carefully transfer the pie to the oven and bake for 10 minutes at 410 degrees F, and then lower it to 325 degrees F for 45 to 50 minutes, and until the center of the pie is set and it jiggles slightly. Make sure to check on it at the 20 minute-mark. If the pie crust is becoming too dark, place a tent, using foil, around the pie crust. Allow to cool at room temperature for 1 hour. Transfer to the refrigerator to chill for at least 2 hours. Right before serving, sprinkle the top of the pumpkin pie with 2 teaspoons of sugar. Using a blow torch, move the flame in small circles over the sugar until it melts and turns a light golden brown color. Serve immediately.

IMG_4736 IMG_4737IMG_4738IMG_4739IMG_4740IMG_4743IMG_4744 

My observations:

1. It needs to be baked a good 20 minutes more than 40 minutes… however check every 5 minutes with the toothpick trick.
2. For some of the pies I used evaporated milk, and others I used heavy cream. The biggest difference that I noted was that the heavy cream resulted in  cracking of the pie, while the evaporated milk kept a smooth topping.

I want to follow up with this and try the Barefoot Contessa Recipe for the whipped rum frusting…… mmmmmmmmm mmmm !!

Enjoy and happy Turkey day!

Leave a Reply

